Florida Statutes > Title XLVI > Chapter 828 > § 828.13 - Confinement of animals without sufficient food, water, or exercise; abandonment of animals
Current as of: 2011
(1) As used in this section:
(a) "Abandon" means to forsake an animal entirely or to neglect or refuse to provide or perform the legal obligations for care and support of an animal by its owner.
(b) "Owner" includes any owner, custodian, or other person in charge of an animal.
(a) Impounds or confines any animal in any place and fails to supply the animal during such confinement with a sufficient quantity of good and wholesome food and water,
(b) Keeps any animals in any enclosure without wholesome exercise and change of air, or
(c) Abandons to die any animal that is maimed, sick, infirm, or diseased,
is guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or by a fine of not more than $5,000, or by both imprisonment and a fine.
(3) Any person who is the owner or possessor, or has charge or custody, of any animal who abandons such animal to suffer injury or malnutrition or abandons any animal in a street, road, or public place without providing for the care, sustenance, protection, and shelter of such animal is guilty of a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or by a fine of not more than $5,000, or by both imprisonment and a fine.
ss. 2, 4, ch. 3921, 1889; RS 2510; GS 3396; RGS 5245; CG
Questions & Answers: Cruelty to Animals
| I am on the Board of our HOA and we recently were informed about children perhaps killing birds with a bb gun or pellet gun. Our advice to the person who witnessed this event, was...|
| Does the 16-hour euthanasia certification course authorize a technician to diagnose a dangerous, communicable disease and subsequently euthanize ani animal based on that diagnosis,...|
| If someone was NOT at a dog fight, didn't support fighting, but had a friend show up seeking care for an injured dog, what is the penalty in SD for providing medical care to that a...|
| If dog fighting is suspected, by law, it must be reported. ...|
| aid, or abet is a Class 6 felony...|
| So let me get this straight. A horse owner in Florida can shoot a horse, even after the vet has left the premises, when he/she had the option of having the vet administer an inject...|
Federal Regulations: Cruelty to Animals