LawServer Nav Menu

New Jersey Statutes 39:3-70. Mufflers.

39:3-70. Every motor vehicle having a combustion motor shall at all times be equipped with a muffler in good working order and in constant operation to prevent excessive or unusual noise and no person shall use a muffler cut-out, bypass, or similar device upon a motor vehicle on a highway.

amended 2009, c.331, s.1.

New Jersey Statutes 39:3-70. Air pollution control; tests

      Any motor vehicle which is subject to inspection by the Division of Motor Vehicles or any other duly authorized body shall, as a condition of compliance with said inspection, pass such tests as may be required to demonstrate that the motor vehicle complies with any standards and requirements for the control of air contaminants established by the Air Pollution Control Commission which are applicable to such motor vehicle.

      L.1966, c. 15, s. 1, eff. April 7, 1966.

New Jersey Statutes 39:3-70. Air pollution; penalty.

2.Any person who operates a motor vehicle or owns a motor vehicle, other than a school bus, which the person permits to idle in violation of rules and regulations, or to be operated upon the public highways of the State when the motor vehicle is emitting smoke or other air contaminants in excess of standards adopted by the Department of Environmental Protection pursuant to the "Air Pollution Control Act (1954)," P.L.1954, c.212 (C.26:2C-1 et seq.) shall be liable to a penalty of not less than $250 nor more than $1,000 per day, per vehicle, which shall be enforced in accordance with the provisions of chapter 5 of Title 39 of the Revised Statutes and P.L.2005, c.219 (C.26:2C-8.26 et al.).

The owner of any school bus that is operated or is permitted to idle in violation of rules and regulations adopted pursuant to the Department of Environmental Protection pursuant to the "Air Pollution Control Act (1954)," P.L.1954, c.212 (C.26:2C-1 et seq.) or any applicable rules and regulations adopted pursuant to P.L.2005, c.219 (C.26:2C-8.26 et al.) shall be liable for a penalty of not less than $250 nor more than $1,000 per day, per vehicle, which shall be enforced in accordance with the provisions of chapter 5 of Title 39 of the Revised Statutes, except that no penalty may be assessed against any driver of a school bus who is not the owner of the school bus.

The provisions of this section shall not apply to a motor vehicle idling in traffic, or a motor vehicle other than a school bus idling in a queue of motor vehicles, that are intermittently motionless and moving because the progress of the motor vehicles in the traffic or the queue has been stopped or slowed by the congestion of traffic on the roadway or other conditions over which the driver of the idling motor vehicle has no control.

L.1966, c.15, s.2; amended 2005, c.219, s.33; 2009, c.331, s.2.