In early 2010 consumers may be eligible to receive rebates from their state for the purchase of new Energy Star appliances. These rebates are being funded with $300 million from the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009. Under this program, eligible consumers can receive rebates to purchase new energy-efficient appliances when they replace used appliances.

Each state was allowed to design its own rebate program, and all of these plans have now been approved by the Department of Energy.

Types of Appliances

Each state can select its own set of Energy Star products to rebate. The Department of Energy has recommended that states select from among the following appliances:

  • Boilers
  • Central air conditioners
  • Clothes washers
  • Dishwashers
  • Freezers
  • Furnaces (oil and gas)
  • Heat pumps (air source and geothermal)
  • Refrigerators
  • Room air conditioners
  • Water heaters

Source: Department of Energy