(a) Establishment; number and terms of members
  Not later than ninety days after October 24, 1988, the Secretary
shall establish an advisory committee to provide advice to the
Secretary with respect to implementation of this chapter consistent
with the declarations of policy in section 74 of this title. The
advisory committee shall consist of fifteen members, appointed by
the Secretary, who represent the interests of all segments of the
grain producing, processing, storing, merchandising, consuming, and
exporting industries, including grain inspection and weighing
agencies and scientists with expertise in research related to the
policies established in section 74 of this title. Members of the
advisory committee shall be appointed to three-year terms, except
that of the initial fifteen members of the advisory committee first
appointed following the enactment of this section, five shall be
appointed for terms of one year and five shall be appointed for
terms of two years. No member of the advisory committee may serve
successive terms.
(b) Federal Advisory Committee Act as governing
  The advisory committee shall be governed by the provisions of the
Federal Advisory Committee Act [5 U.S.C. App.].
(c) Clerical assistance and staff personnel
  The Secretary shall provide the advisory committee with necessary
clerical assistance and staff personnel.
(d) Compensation and travel expenses
  Members of the advisory committee shall serve without
compensation, if not otherwise officers or employees of the United
States, except that members shall, while away from their homes or
regular places of business in the performance of services under
this chapter, be allowed travel expenses, including per diem in
lieu of subsistence, as authorized under section 5703 of title 5.
(e) Expiration of Secretary's authority
  The authority provided to the Secretary for the establishment and
maintenance of an advisory committee under this section shall
expire on September 30, 2015.