(a) The Alaska Boating Safety Advisory Council is established in the department.

Terms Used In Alaska Statutes 05.25.057

  • state: means the State of Alaska unless applied to the different parts of the United States and in the latter case it includes the District of Columbia and the territories. See Alaska Statutes 01.10.060

(b) The council consists of seven members appointed by the governor. The governor shall appoint each member on the basis of interest in public affairs, knowledge of boating issues as they relate to both safety and water of the state, and good judgment and ability concerning boating safety. The appointed members shall represent boat owner interests, including owners of boats powered by engines and owners of boats that are paddled, poled, rowed, or powered by wind, shall be residents of the state, and shall be appointed without regard to political affiliation or geographical location of residence. The commissioner is not a member of the council, but shall be ex officio secretary.

(c) The purpose of the council is to

(1) recommend to the department boating safety educational materials;

(2) review and make recommendations on proposed boating regulations;

(3) consider regional boating safety needs and promote boating safety education programs throughout the state; and

(4) advise the department on state, regional, and national boating issues.

(d) The council may not meet more than two times in each calendar year. Members of the council receive no compensation for services on the council, but are entitled to per diem and travel expenses authorized for boards under AS 39.20.180 .

(e) In this section, “council” means the Alaska Boating Safety Advisory Council.