(a) Notwithstanding any other remedy available under this chapter and except as provided in (e) of this section, the department may impose an administrative fine of not more than $1,000 for the first violation and not more than $1,500 for a second or subsequent violation of either AS 08.18.011 or 08.18.025.
Terms Used In Alaska Statutes 08.18.125
- person: includes a corporation, company, partnership, firm, association, organization, business trust, or society, as well as a natural person. See Alaska Statutes 01.10.060
(b) The department shall issue a written notice of an administrative fine imposed under (a) of this section, together with a statement of the reason for the fine, a copy of the applicable procedures, and notice of an opportunity to request a hearing, including the contact information for making the request, within 30 days after the date of the notice of the fine.
(c) If a person who is issued a notice of an administrative fine under (b) of this section fails to request a hearing within 30 days after the date of the notice, the right to a hearing is waived, and the administrative fine is not subject to judicial review. A hearing request must be in writing and must clearly state the issues to be raised at the hearing. The department shall schedule a hearing before a hearing officer not earlier than 10 days after receiving the request for a hearing.
(d) A decision of a hearing officer under this section is a final administrative decision subject to review by a superior court under AS 44.62 (Administrative Procedure Act).
(e) The department may not impose an administrative fine on a person who is acting as a contractor or home inspector in an area with a population of 1,000 or less that is not connected by road or rail to Anchorage or Fairbanks.