Section 1. As used in this chapter, the following words shall have the following meanings:?

”Commissioner,” the commissioner of public health.

”Department,” the department of public health in the Executive Office of Health and Human Services.

”Marijuana,” the plant Cannabis sativa L., tetrahydrocannabinol, or a chemical derivative or synthesis of tetrahydrocannabinol.

”Physician,” a person licensed in accordance with the provisions of section two of chapter one hundred and twelve.