In addition to all other powers and duties of the department, it shall:

A. upon request and within budget limitations, provide land-use planning assistance in the areas of terrain management consisting of flood control, drainage, erosion and measures required for adapting proposed development to existing soil characteristics and topography; and

B. with the advice of the commission, divide the state into six soil and water conservation regions and assign each of the currently created soil and water conservation districts or those created in the future to one of the six geographical regions. Division and assignment may be amended from time to time with the advice of the commission as the boundaries of the districts alter or other conditions warrant.