Terms Used In Rhode Island General Laws 11-49-6.1
- Conviction: A judgement of guilt against a criminal defendant.
- Credit card: means any instrument or device, whether known as a credit card, credit plate, or by any other name, issued with or without fee by an issuer for the use of the card holder in obtaining money, goods, services, or anything else of value on credit. See Rhode Island General Laws 11-49-1
- in writing: include printing, engraving, lithographing, and photo-lithographing, and all other representations of words in letters of the usual form. See Rhode Island General Laws 43-3-16
- person: extends to and includes co-partnerships and bodies corporate and politic. See Rhode Island General Laws 43-3-6
Publishing information for fraudulent purposes.
(a) (1) It shall be unlawful for any person to publish or cause to be published the number or code of an existing, cancelled, revoked, expired, or nonexistent credit card issued by a company providing telecommunication services or the numbering or coding system which is employed in the issuance of those credit cards, or any method, scheme, instruction, or information on how to fraudulently avoid payment for telecommunication services, with the intent that the number or coding system or information be used or with knowledge that the system or information are to be used to fraudulently avoid the payment of any lawful charges imposed by the telecommunications company.
(2) As used in this section, “publishes” means the communication of information to any one or more persons, either orally, in person, or by telephone, radio, or television, or in writing of any kind, including a letter or memorandum, circular, poster, or handbill, newspaper or magazine article, or book with the intent that the information be used or employed in violation of this section.
(b) Any person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction, may be imprisoned for not more than one year, or fined not more than five hundred dollars ($500), or both.
(c) Any person convicted of a second or subsequent offense of this section shall be guilty of a felony and, upon conviction, may be imprisoned for not more than three (3) years or fined not more than three thousand dollars ($3,000), or both.