(1) Definition. In this section, “total monthly charges” means the total amount paid per month, including the basic monthly rate plus any additional fees, for care, treatment and services provided to a resident of a community-based residential facility by a community-based residential facility.
Terms Used In Wisconsin Statutes 50.037
- Community-based residential facility: means a place where 5 or more adults who are not related to the operator or administrator and who do not require care above intermediate level nursing care reside and receive care, treatment or services that are above the level of room and board but that include no more than 3 hours of nursing care per week per resident. See Wisconsin Statutes 50.01
- Facility: means a nursing home or community-based residential facility. See Wisconsin Statutes 50.01
- Month: means a calendar month unless otherwise expressed. See Wisconsin Statutes 403.504
- Resident: means a person who is cared for or treated in and is not discharged from a nursing home, community-based residential facility or adult family home, irrespective of how admitted. See Wisconsin Statutes 50.01
- State: when applied to states of the United States, includes the District of Columbia, the commonwealth of Puerto Rico and the several territories organized by Congress. See Wisconsin Statutes 403.504
1. Except as provided in subd. 2., the biennial fee for a community-based residential facility is $389, plus a biennial fee of $50.25 per resident, based on the number of residents that the facility is licensed to serve.
2. The department may, by rule, increase the amount of the fee under subd. 1.
(b) Fees specified under par. (a) shall be paid to the department by the community-based residential facility before the department may issue a license under s. 50.03 (4) (a) 1. b. A licensed community-based residential facility shall pay the fee under par. (a) by the date established by the department. A newly licensed community-based residential facility shall pay the fee under this subsection no later than 30 days before the opening of the facility.
(c) A community-based residential facility that fails to submit the biennial fee prior to the date established by the department, or a new community-based residential facility subject to this section that fails to submit the biennial fee by 30 days prior to the opening of the new community-based residential facility, shall pay an additional fee of $10 per day for every day after the deadline that the facility does not pay the fee.
(3) Exemption. Community-based residential facilities where the total monthly charges for each resident do not exceed the monthly state supplemental payment rate under s. 49.77 (3s) that is in effect at the time the fee under sub. (2) is assessed are exempt from this section.