(a) Every title insurer shall file with the commissioner its schedule of premium rates and every modification of any premium rate that it proposes to use in this state. The premium rates shall not be subject to rebate and the rebate of premiums to the insured are expressly prohibited. If a reissue premium rate is filed by an insurer, an insured may receive reissue credit only when the insured physically produces the prior title insurance policy, including schedules associated therewith, issued by a title insurer licensed to be engaged in the business of title insurance in this state. A title insurer that has not filed its premium rates pursuant to the provisions hereof shall not engage in the business of title insurance until such time as its premium rates are filed. No person, title insurer, agency, or agent shall charge any premium rate for any policy or contract of title insurance except in accordance with the filed premium rates which are in effect for the title insurer as provided in this section.

Terms Used In Alabama Code 27-25-6

  • Contract: A legal written agreement that becomes binding when signed.
  • oath: includes affirmation. See Alabama Code 1-1-1
  • person: includes a corporation as well as a natural person. See Alabama Code 1-1-1
  • property: includes both real and personal property. See Alabama Code 1-1-1
  • state: when applied to the different parts of the United States, includes the District of Columbia and the several territories of the United States. See Alabama Code 1-1-1
  • writing: includes typewriting and printing on paper. See Alabama Code 1-1-1

(b) Every premium rate filing by a title insurer shall state the effective date thereof and shall indicate the character and extent of the coverage contemplated. The commissioner shall determine the form, manner, and detail of premium rate filings required in this section. No premium rate filing shall provide for the negotiation or bidding of the rate to be charged for a policy insuring an interest in real property in this state.

(c) Before the expiration of 60 days after the receipt of a premium rate filing by a title insurer, the commissioner shall determine the fairness and justness of all such filings and shall also notify the title insurer of any disapproval of the premium rate filing.

(d) Any premium rate filed may be used or charged after the expiration of 60 days from the date of filing in the office of the commissioner, unless the commissioner has issued notice of the commissioner’s prior written disapproval thereto within the time period.

(e) A notice of written disapproval by the commissioner shall set forth the reasons therefor and shall state that a hearing will be granted within 30 days after request in writing by the title insurer. The commissioner or his or her designee shall have the power to administer oaths, to require the appearance of and examine any person under oath, and to require the production of books, records, or papers relevant to the inquiry upon the commissioner’s or the designee’s own initiative or upon the request of any interested insurer.

(Act 2001-496, p. 866, §6.)