There shall be in the department a Board of Examiners of Electrologists, composed of five members, one of whom shall be a doctor of medicine licensed to practice medicine and surgery in the state and a diplomate of the American Board of Dermatology, two of whom shall be public members and two of whom shall be practicing electrologists who are residents of this state. The Governor shall appoint the members of the board, subject to the provisions of § 4-9a. The board shall meet at least once during each calendar quarter and at such other times as the chairperson deems necessary. Special meetings shall be held on the request of a majority of the board after notice in accordance with the provisions of § 1-225. A majority of the members of the board shall constitute a quorum. Members shall not be compensated for their services. Any member who fails to attend three consecutive meetings or who fails to attend fifty per cent of all meetings held during any calendar year shall be deemed to have resigned from office. Minutes of all meetings shall be recorded by the board. No member shall participate in the affairs of the board during the pendency of any disciplinary proceedings by the board against such member. No professional member shall be an elected or appointed officer of a professional society of electrologists or have been such an officer during the year immediately preceding such professional member’s appointment. The board shall (1) hear and decide matters concerning suspension or revocation of licensure, (2) adjudicate complaints against practitioners, and (3) impose sanctions where appropriate.

Terms Used In Connecticut General Statutes 20-268