4.   There is hereby created in the department a Marine Fisheries Council, which shall consist of 11 members, nine of whom shall be appointed by the Governor, with the advice and consent of the Senate, of whom four shall represent and be knowledgeable of the interests of sports fishermen, two shall be active commercial fin fishermen, one shall be an active fish processor, and two shall represent the general public; the other two members shall be the chairmen of the two sections of the Shellfisheries Council.

   Of the nine members first to be appointed by the Governor, three shall be appointed for a term of one year, three for a term of two years, and three for a term of three years.  Thereafter, all appointments shall be made for terms of three years.  All appointed members shall serve after the expiration of their terms until their respective successors are appointed and shall qualify, and any vacancy occurring in the appointed membership of the council, by expiration of term or otherwise, shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment for the unexpired term only, notwithstanding that the previous incumbent may have held over and continued in office as aforesaid.  The Governor may remove any member of the council for cause upon notice and opportunity to be heard.

Terms Used In New Jersey Statutes 23:2B-4

  • Advice and consent: Under the Constitution, presidential nominations for executive and judicial posts take effect only when confirmed by the Senate, and international treaties become effective only when the Senate approves them by a two-thirds vote.
  • Council: means the Fish and Game Council in the Division of Fish and Wildlife in the Department of Environmental Protection. See New Jersey Statutes 23:1-1
  • Quorum: The number of legislators that must be present to do business.

   Members of the council shall serve without compensation, but shall be reimbursed for expenses actually incurred in attending meetings of the council and in the performance of their duties as members thereof.

   The Governor shall appoint a chairman, from the citizen members of the council, who shall serve at the Governor’s pleasure.  Six members of the council shall constitute a quorum to transact its business.
   L.1979, c.199, s.4; amended 2007, c.338, s.2.