A person who violates this chapter is guilty of a misdemeanor and for a first conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine of not more than one hundred dollars ($100), or by imprisonment for not more than 10 days, or by both fine and imprisonment; for a second conviction for an offense committed within one year after the date of the first offense, the person shall be punished by a fine of not more than two hundred dollars ($200), or by imprisonment for not more than 30 days, or by both fine and imprisonment; and for a third conviction for a third or subsequent offense committed within one year after the date of the first offense, the person shall be punished by a fine of not more than five hundred dollars ($500), or by imprisonment for not more than three months, or by both fine and imprisonment.

(Acts 1996, No. 96-534, p. 746, §7.)

Terms Used In Alabama Code 32-5C-7

  • Conviction: A judgement of guilt against a criminal defendant.
  • Misdemeanor: Usually a petty offense, a less serious crime than a felony, punishable by less than a year of confinement.
  • person: Every natural person, firm, copartnership, association, or corporation. See Alabama Code 16-36-23
  • year: means a calendar year; but, whenever the word "year" is used in reference to any appropriations for the payment of money out of the treasury, it shall mean fiscal year. See Alabama Code 30-3D-608