(a) The State Dental Commission shall consist of nine members appointed by the Governor, subject to the provisions of section 4-9a, six of whom shall be practitioners in dentistry residing in this state who are in good standing in their profession and three of whom shall be public members. No member of said commission shall be an elected or appointed officer of a professional association of members of his profession or have been such an officer for the year immediately preceding his appointment. The Commissioner of Public Health, with advice and assistance from the Dental Commission, may issue regulations to implement the provisions of this chapter, and to insure proper dental care and the protection of public health, considering the convenience and welfare of the patient, methods recommended by the canon of ethics of the Connecticut State Dental Association and the American Dental Association and accepted health standards as promulgated by local health ordinances and state statutes and regulations.

Terms Used In Connecticut General Statutes 20-103a

  • Quorum: The number of legislators that must be present to do business.

(b) The Governor shall appoint a chairperson from among such members. Said commission shall meet at least once during each calendar quarter and at such other times as the chairman deems necessary. Special meetings shall be held on the request of a majority of the commission after notice in accordance with the provisions of section 1-225. A majority of the members of the commission shall constitute a quorum. Members shall not be compensated for their services. Any member who fails to attend three consecutive meetings or who fails to attend fifty per cent of all meetings held during any calendar year shall be deemed to have resigned from office. Minutes of all meetings shall be recorded by the commission. No member shall participate in the affairs of the commission during the pendency of any disciplinary proceedings by the commission against such member. No member shall serve for more than two full consecutive terms commencing after July 1, 1980. Said commission shall (1) hear and decide matters concerning suspension or revocation of licensure, (2) adjudicate complaints filed against practitioners and (3) impose sanctions where appropriate.