(1) One free motor vehicle license number plate shall be issued by the department for use on any motor vehicle owned or leased by any disabled veteran who has been a resident of this state continuously for the preceding 5 years or has established a domicile in this state as provided by s. 222.17(1), (2), or (3), and who has been honorably discharged from the United States Armed Forces, upon application, accompanied by proof that:
(a) A vehicle was initially acquired through financial assistance by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or its predecessor specifically for the purchase of an automobile;
Terms Used In Florida Statutes 320.084
- Evidence: Information presented in testimony or in documents that is used to persuade the fact finder (judge or jury) to decide the case for one side or the other.
- person: includes individuals, children, firms, associations, joint adventures, partnerships, estates, trusts, business trusts, syndicates, fiduciaries, corporations, and all other groups or combinations. See Florida Statutes 1.01
- veteran: means a person who served in the active military, naval, or air service and who was discharged or released under honorable conditions only or who later received an upgraded discharge under honorable conditions, notwithstanding any action by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs on individuals discharged or released with other than honorable discharges. See Florida Statutes 1.01
(b) The applicant has been determined by the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or its predecessor to have a service-connected 100-percent disability rating for compensation; or
(c) The applicant has been determined to have a service-connected disability rating of 100 percent and is in receipt of disability retirement pay from any branch of the United States Armed Services.
(2) The production by a veteran of a valid identification card issued by the Department of Veterans’ Affairs in accordance with s. 295.17 or a letter from the United States Department of Veterans Affairs or its predecessor or any branch of the uniformed Armed Services certifying a service-connected disability rating of 100 percent for the veteran is prima facie evidence of the veteran’s eligibility for the benefits contained in subsection (1).
(3) The department shall, as it deems necessary, require each person to whom a motor vehicle license plate has been issued pursuant to subsection (1) to apply to the department for reissuance of his or her registration license plate. Upon receipt of the application and proof of the applicant’s continued eligibility, the department shall issue a new permanent “DV” numerical motor vehicle license plate which shall be of the colors red, white, and blue similar to the colors of the United States flag. The operation of a motor vehicle displaying a “DV” license plate from a previous issue period or a noncurrent validation sticker after the date specified by the department shall subject the owner if he or she is present, otherwise the operator, to the penalty provided in s. 318.18(2). Such permanent license plate shall be removed upon sale of the vehicle, but may be transferred to another vehicle owned by such veteran in the manner prescribed by law. The license number of each plate issued under this section shall be identified by the letter designation “DV.” Upon request of any such veteran, the department is authorized to issue a designation plate containing only the letters “DV,” to be displayed on the front of the vehicle.
(4)(a) With the issuance of each new permanent “DV” numerical motor vehicle license plate, the department shall initially issue, without cost to the applicant, a validation sticker reflecting the owner’s birth month and a serially numbered validation sticker reflecting the year of expiration. The initial sticker reflecting the year of expiration may not exceed 27 months.
(b) There shall be a service charge in accordance with the provisions of s. 320.04 for each initial application or renewal of registration and an additional sum of 50 cents on each license plate and validation sticker as provided in s. 320.06(3)(b).
(c) Registration under this section shall be renewed annually or biennially during the applicable renewal period on forms prescribed by the department, which shall include, in addition to any other information required by the department, a certified statement as to the continued eligibility of the applicant to receive the special “DV” license plate. Any applicant who falsely or fraudulently submits to the department the certified statement required by this paragraph is guilty of a noncriminal violation and is subject to a civil penalty of $50.
(5) A county or municipality, or any agency thereof, may not impose upon any person who is issued a license plate with the international accessibility symbol, under this section, any fee or penalty for parking in any metered or timed parking space except:
(a) As provided in s. 316.1964; or
(b) When the person is parked without a permit issued under s. 320.0848 in a space designated for use by persons who have disabilities.