(1) It is unlawful to sell, deliver, barter, furnish, or give, directly or indirectly, to any person who is under 18 years of age, any tobacco product.
(2) Any person who violates subsection (1) commits a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083. However, any person who violates subsection (1) for a second or subsequent time within 1 year of the first violation, commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.
(3) A person charged with a violation of subsection (1) has a complete defense if, at the time the tobacco product was sold, delivered, bartered, furnished, or given:
(a) The buyer or recipient falsely evidenced that she or he was 18 years of age or older;
Terms Used In Florida Statutes 569.101
- Misdemeanor: Usually a petty offense, a less serious crime than a felony, punishable by less than a year of confinement.
- person: includes individuals, children, firms, associations, joint adventures, partnerships, estates, trusts, business trusts, syndicates, fiduciaries, corporations, and all other groups or combinations. See Florida Statutes 1.01
(b) The appearance of the buyer or recipient was such that a prudent person would believe the buyer or recipient to be 18 years of age or older; and
(c) Such person carefully checked a driver license or an identification card issued by this state or another state of the United States, a passport, or a United States armed services identification card presented by the buyer or recipient and acted in good faith and in reliance upon the representation and appearance of the buyer or recipient in the belief that the buyer or recipient was 18 years of age or older.