I. The management of the authority shall be vested in a board of 14 directors, who shall serve without compensation. The governor, with the consent of the council, shall appoint 9 members of the board, who shall include an executive director of a regional planning commission and one elected or appointed local official. The governor shall designate one of the board members as chairperson. Each board member appointed by the governor shall hold office for 3 years, or until a successor has been appointed. The state treasurer shall serve as a voting ex officio member of the board. Two members of the house of representatives, who shall be appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives, and 2 members of the senate, who shall be appointed by the president of the senate, shall serve as nonvoting members of the board. A director serving as a member of the house of representatives or as a member of the senate shall serve for a term ending when the general court dissolves.
II. A director, officer, or employee of the authority shall not use his or her office for personal gain or act in a manner contrary to the public interest. A director shall abstain from voting on matters in which the director has a financial interest, whether personally or through a spouse or dependent. If in doubt, the director may submit a written request for advice to the chairperson, who shall make a ruling as to whether the director may vote on a matter.

Terms Used In New Hampshire Revised Statutes 162-A:4

  • Dependent: A person dependent for support upon another.
  • Ex officio: Literally, by virtue of one's office.
  • state: when applied to different parts of the United States, may extend to and include the District of Columbia and the several territories, so called; and the words "United States" shall include said district and territories. See New Hampshire Revised Statutes 21:4