Florida Statutes 574.12 – Tobacco warehouses; charges, fees, penalties
Current as of: 2022 | Check for updates | Other versions
Attorney's NoteUnder the Florida Statutes, punishments for crimes depend on the classification. In the case of this section:
|misdemeanor of the second degree||up to 60 days||up to $500|
Terms Used In Florida Statutes 574.12
- person: includes individuals, children, firms, associations, joint adventures, partnerships, estates, trusts, business trusts, syndicates, fiduciaries, corporations, and all other groups or combinations. See Florida Statutes 1.01
(1) The charges for auctioneer fees, for weighing and handling, and for commissions for selling leaf tobacco upon the floor of the tobacco warehouses shall be determined by the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.
(2) The proprietor of each warehouse shall render to each seller of tobacco at his or her warehouse a bill plainly stating the amount charged for weighing and handling, the amounts charged for auction fees, and the amounts charged for commission on each sale.
(3) It is unlawful for any charges in addition to or in excess of those named by the department to be made or accepted, and any proprietor or person in charge of a leaf tobacco warehouse in this state who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.