(1) A motor vehicle insurance policy providing personal injury protection as set forth in s. 627.736 may not be delivered or issued for delivery in this state with respect to any specifically insured or identified motor vehicle registered or principally garaged in this state unless the policy also provides coverage for property damage liability as required by s. 324.022.
(2)(a) Insurers writing motor vehicle insurance in this state shall make available, subject to the insurers’ usual underwriting restrictions:
1. Coverage under policies as described in subsection (1) to an applicant for private passenger motor vehicle insurance coverage who is seeking the coverage in order to reinstate the applicant’s driving privileges in this state if the driving privileges were revoked or suspended pursuant to s. 316.646 or s. 324.0221 due to the failure of the applicant to maintain required security.
2. Coverage under policies as described in subsection (1), which also provides liability coverage for bodily injury, death, and property damage arising out of the ownership, maintenance, or use of the motor vehicle in an amount not less than the limits described in s. 324.021(7) and conforms to the requirements of s. 324.151, to an applicant for private passenger motor vehicle insurance coverage who is seeking the coverage in order to reinstate the applicant’s driving privileges in this state after such privileges were revoked or suspended under s. 316.193 or s. 322.26(2) for driving under the influence.
Terms Used In Florida Statutes 627.7275
- person: includes individuals, children, firms, associations, joint adventures, partnerships, estates, trusts, business trusts, syndicates, fiduciaries, corporations, and all other groups or combinations. See Florida Statutes 88.6011
- writing: includes handwriting, printing, typewriting, and all other methods and means of forming letters and characters upon paper, stone, wood, or other materials. See Florida Statutes 88.6011
(b) The policies described in paragraph (a) shall be issued for at least 6 months and, as to the minimum coverages required under this section, may not be canceled by the insured for any reason or by the insurer after 60 days, during which period the insurer is completing the underwriting of the policy. After the insurer has completed underwriting the policy, the insurer shall notify the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles that the policy is in full force and effect and is not cancelable for the remainder of the policy period. A premium shall be collected and the coverage is in effect for the 60-day period during which the insurer is completing the underwriting of the policy whether or not the person‘s driver license, motor vehicle tag, and motor vehicle registration are in effect. Once the noncancelable provisions of the policy become effective, the coverages for bodily injury, property damage, and personal injury protection may not be reduced below the minimum limits required under s. 324.021 or s. 324.023 during the policy period.
(c) This subsection controls to the extent of any conflict with any other section.
(d) An insurer issuing a policy subject to this section may cancel the policy if, during the policy term, the named insured, or any other operator who resides in the same household or customarily operates an automobile insured under the policy, has his or her driver license suspended or revoked.
(e) This subsection does not require an insurer to offer a policy of insurance to an applicant if such offer would be inconsistent with the insurer’s underwriting guidelines and procedures.