Any municipality by ordinance may regulate the installation, alteration, and use of all electrical equipment as provided in this Division 37 and may establish an electrical inspection department for this regulation.
     Each municipality which establishes such an electrical inspection department shall also establish an electrical commission, consisting of 6 members as follows: The superintendent of electricity or the chief electrical inspector of the municipality shall be a member and ex officio chairman of the commission; of the other 5 members, one shall be a registered professional engineer, one an electrical contractor, one a journeyman electrician, one a representative of an inspection bureau maintained by the fire underwriters, if such a representative resides in the municipality, and if no such representative resides in the municipality then the chief of the fire department, and one representative of an electricity supply company. If there is no person residing in the municipality who is qualified under any one of these descriptions, the mayor or president of the municipality may appoint some other person to fill that position. All members of the electrical commission shall be appointed by the mayor or president of the municipality with the advice and consent of the corporate authorities.

Terms Used In Illinois Compiled Statutes 65 ILCS 5/11-37-2

  • Advice and consent: Under the Constitution, presidential nominations for executive and judicial posts take effect only when confirmed by the Senate, and international treaties become effective only when the Senate approves them by a two-thirds vote.
  • electrical equipment: as used in this Division 37 means conductors and other equipment installed for the utilization of electricity for light, heat, or power. See Illinois Compiled Statutes 65 ILCS 5/11-37-1
  • Ex officio: Literally, by virtue of one's office.