(a)(1) There is hereby created a board of certification of operators of wastewater treatment facilities to insure the proper management, operation, and maintenance of wastewater treatment facilities.

(2) The board shall consist of seven (7) persons, including the director of the department of environmental management, or his or her designee; the director of the department of health, or his or her designee; and five (5) members appointed by the governor. Of the appointive members of the board, one shall be representative of the Rhode Island League of Cities and Towns, one shall be an educator in the field of sanitary engineering, one shall be an active qualified operator of a publicly owned wastewater treatment facility who presently holds a valid voluntary certificate from the New England Water Pollution Control Association or a mandatory certificate from another state and is an active member of the Narragansett Water Pollution Control Association, one shall be a municipal director of public works who has general supervisory authority for a wastewater treatment facility, and one shall be a representative of a business, labor, industry, or governmental employees labor union.

(b) Each member of the board shall serve for a term of four (4) years; provided, however, that of the initial members appointed to the board by the governor, one shall be appointed for a term of two (2) years, two (2) shall be appointed for terms of three (3) years, and two (2) shall be appointed for terms of four (4) years. As the term of office of a member of the board expires, his or her successor shall be appointed in like manner for a term of four (4) years provided that a member shall continue to serve until an appointment is made by the governor. Any vacancy shall be filled by the governor for the unexpired term.

(c) Any member of the board may be removed from office by the governor for good cause.

History of Section.
(P.L. 1978, ch. 282, § 1.)