(a) Every license to practice chiropractic or permit to own a chiropractic practice shall be subject to renewal on September 30 of the year for which it is issued with a grace period from October 1 to December 31 of each year. Every person having a valid license or permit may on or before September 30 renew the license or permit for the ensuing year by the payment to the board of a fee of not more than four hundred dollars ($400), the exact amount to be fixed by rule of the board, adopted in accordance with the Alabama Administrative Procedure Act, subject to the condition that no increase or decrease in any one year shall exceed twenty-five dollars ($25). The license renewal shall be accompanied by satisfactory evidence that the person has completed during the preceding year a minimum of 18 hours of professional educational work approved by the board. The permit renewal shall be accompanied by satisfactory evidence that the primary permit holder has completed the number of approved continuing education hours in the manner set forth and required by rule of the board. The board, for good and reasonable cause shown, may waive the education requirement. The secretary-treasurer or the executive director of the board shall notify each licensee or permit holder at least 30 days prior to September 30 of each year of the due date for renewal. In addition to the renewal fee, a late renewal penalty shall be assessed any licensee or permit holder who fails to pay the renewal fee by September 30 of each year based on the following schedule:

Terms Used In Alabama Code 34-24-165

  • Affidavit: A written statement of facts confirmed by the oath of the party making it, before a notary or officer having authority to administer oaths.
  • chiropractic: when used in this article, is hereby defined as the science and art of locating and removing without the use of drugs or surgery any interference with the transmission and expression of nerve energy in the human body by any means or methods as taught in schools or colleges of chiropractic which are recognized by the State Board of Chiropractic Examiners. See Alabama Code 34-24-120
  • Evidence: Information presented in testimony or in documents that is used to persuade the fact finder (judge or jury) to decide the case for one side or the other.
  • following: means next after. See Alabama Code 30-3D-608
  • Grace period: The number of days you'll have to pay your bill for purchases in full without triggering a finance charge. Source: Federal Reserve
  • month: means a calendar month. See Alabama Code 30-3D-608
  • person: includes a corporation as well as a natural person. See Alabama Code 30-3D-608
  • preceding: means next before. See Alabama Code 30-3D-608
  • state: when applied to the different parts of the United States, includes the District of Columbia and the several territories of the United States. See Alabama Code 30-3D-608
  • United States: includes the territories thereof and the District of Columbia. See Alabama Code 30-3D-608
  • year: means a calendar year; but, whenever the word "year" is used in reference to any appropriations for the payment of money out of the treasury, it shall mean fiscal year. See Alabama Code 30-3D-608

(1) For renewal during the month of October, one hundred dollars ($100).

(2) For renewal during the month of November, two hundred dollars ($200).

(3) For renewal during the month of December, three hundred dollars ($300).

A chiropractor may continue to practice or a permit holder may continue to own a chiropractic practice until December 31 of the year for which a license or permit is issued subject to subsection (b).

(b) Any license issued pursuant to this chapter shall be automatically suspended if not renewed before January 1. Any chiropractor whose license is automatically suspended shall be reinstated if all conditions for renewal have been satisfied and upon payment of a reinstatement fee on or before January 31. Any chiropractor who seeks reinstatement due to nonrenewal after the above time shall comply with Section 34-24-176.

(c) Any licensee who is no longer in active practice may apply for retirement of his or her license by submitting an affidavit to that effect on a form supplied by the executive director. A licensee whose license is retired is excused from the professional education requirement specified in this article. The annual fee for maintenance of a retired license may not be more than one-half of the amount required by this article for an active license. Any license issued pursuant to this section shall be automatically suspended if not renewed before January 1. Any chiropractor whose license is automatically suspended shall be reinstated if all conditions for renewal have been satisfied and upon payment of a reinstatement fee on or before January 31. Any chiropractor who seeks reinstatement due to nonrenewal after the above time shall comply with Section 34-24-176.

(d) The board may waive or reduce annual registration and the payment of fees while any licensee is prevented from practicing chiropractic by reason of physical disability, temporary active duty with any of the Armed Forces of the United States, or while any licensee is completely retired from the practice of chiropractic. The waiver of fees shall be effective so long as the disability, temporary active duty, or complete retirement continues.

(e) The board shall make rules and regulations as necessary and proper for effectuating or enforcing this article.

(f) In addition to other requirements established by law and for the purpose of determining suitability for reinstatement of a license to practice chiropractic, each individual seeking reinstatement shall submit a complete set of fingerprints to the board and the board shall submit the fingerprints provided by any such individual to the State Bureau of Investigations. The fingerprints shall be forwarded by the State Bureau of Investigations to the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) for a national criminal history record check. Costs associated with conducting a criminal history background check shall be borne by the individual seeking reinstatement. The board shall keep information received pursuant to this section confidential, except that such information received and relied upon in denying reinstatement may be disclosed as may be necessary to support the denial. In addition to other requirements established by law and for the purposes of determining suitability for renewal, the board, in its discretion, may require an individual seeking renewal of a license to practice chiropractic to submit a complete set of fingerprints to the board. The board shall submit the fingerprints provided by any such individual to the State Bureau of Investigations. The fingerprints shall be forwarded by the State Bureau of Investigations to the FBI for a national criminal history record check. Costs associated with conducting a criminal history background check shall be borne by the individual seeking renewal. The board shall keep information received pursuant this section confidential, except that such information received and relied upon in denying renewal may be disclosed as may be necessary to support the denial. This requirement also shall apply in the same manner to any person who is not licensed as a chiropractor who applies for reinstatement or renewal of his or her permit pursuant to Section 34-24-123(b).

(g) The board shall also establish an inactive license for persons who desire to be licensed in Alabama but who actually practice in another state. The annual fee for maintenance of an inactive license shall be one-half of the amount required by this section for an active license.

(Acts 1959, No. 108, p. 612, §19; Acts 1964, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 167, p. 232, §1; Acts 1969, No. 608, p. 1113, §1; Acts 1978, No. 769, p. 1109, §1; Acts 1989, No. 89-237, p. 321, §2; Acts 1997, No. 97-149, p. 190, §3; Act 98-650, p. 1427, §1; Act 99-662, 2nd Sp. Sess., p. 120, §1; Act 2003-352, p. 921, §1; Act 2009-31, p. 98, §3; Act 2013-414, p. 1568, §1; Act 2015-275, p. 760, §1; Act 2017-53, §3.)