(a) Each person, who has been admitted to practice in this State by reciprocity, or who has otherwise qualified for a license shall, prior to practicing in this State, file for and obtain an occupational license from the Division of Revenue in accordance with Chapter 23 of Title 30. The Board shall forthwith issue a license to each person who has qualified for same under this chapter and who has complied with all rules and regulations of the Board.
Terms Used In Delaware Code Title 24 Sec. 709
- State: means the State of Delaware; and when applied to different parts of the United States, it includes the District of Columbia and the several territories and possessions of the United States. See Delaware Code Title 6 Sec. 4307
- Year: means a calendar year, and is equivalent to the words "year of our Lord. See Delaware Code Title 6 Sec. 4307
(b) Upon payment of the renewal fee and upon submission of proof of satisfactory completion of continuing education requirements, each license shall be renewed biennially in such manner as is determined by the Division of Professional Regulation. The Board shall, in its rules and regulations, determine the period of time within which a practitioner may still renew the license; provided, however, that such period shall not exceed 1 year. At the expiration of the period designated by the Board, the license shall be deemed to be lapsed and not renewable, unless the former licensee reapplies under the same conditions which govern reciprocity; provided, however, that the former licensee shall also pay a reinstatement fee in an amount which is determined by the Division of Professional Regulation.
(c) Any licensee may, upon the licensee’s written request, be placed in an inactive status not to exceed 5 years. The renewal fee of such person shall be prorated in accordance with the amount of time such person was inactive. Such person may reenter practice upon notification to the Board of that person’s intent to do so, provided said person has satisfied all continuing education requirements prescribed by the Board.
(d) A former licensee who has been penalized for the violation of a provision of this chapter, or whose license has been suspended or revoked, and who subsequently is permitted to apply for reinstatement shall apply for a new license, successfully complete the examination required by the Board, and shall pay all appropriate fees before the former licensee may be relicensed.
41 Del. Laws, c. 261, § 4; 24 Del. C. 1953, § 710; 53 Del. Laws, c. 108, § 8; 64 Del. Laws, c. 413, § 3; 65 Del. Laws, c. 331, §§ 11, 12; 65 Del. Laws, c. 355, § 1; 70 Del. Laws, c. 186, § 1; 70 Del. Laws, c. 514, §§ 22-25; 72 Del. Laws, c. 125, §§ 4, 6.;