(a) No person shall represent himself or herself to the public as a doctor of chiropractic, or display any sign or advertise in any manner as being a doctor of chiropractic or chiropractic physician without first obtaining from the Board the license or licenses required under this chapter.
Terms Used In Delaware Code Title 24 Sec. 713
- Complaint: A written statement by the plaintiff stating the wrongs allegedly committed by the defendant.
- Evidence: Information presented in testimony or in documents that is used to persuade the fact finder (judge or jury) to decide the case for one side or the other.
- Jurisdiction: (1) The legal authority of a court to hear and decide a case. Concurrent jurisdiction exists when two courts have simultaneous responsibility for the same case. (2) The geographic area over which the court has authority to decide cases.
- Month: means a calendar month, unless otherwise expressed. See Delaware Code Title 6 Sec. 4307
- State: means the State of Delaware; and when applied to different parts of the United States, it includes the District of Columbia and the several territories and possessions of the United States. See Delaware Code Title 6 Sec. 4307
- Year: means a calendar year, and is equivalent to the words "year of our Lord. See Delaware Code Title 6 Sec. 4307
(b) Where the Board has determined that person is practicing chiropractic within this State without having lawfully obtained a license therefor, or that a person previously licensed is unlawful practicing although the person’s license has been suspended or revoked, the Board shall formally warn such person in writing. If the offense continues, the Board shall make a formal complaint to the Attorney General. The complaint shall include all evidence known to, or in the possession of, the Board.
(c) Where a person not currently licensed as a chiropractic is tried and convicted of unlawfully practicing chiropractic in violation of this chapter such offender shall, upon the first offense, be fined $500 or imprisoned not less than 1 month nor more than 1 year, or both, and upon a second or any subsequent offense, shall be fined not less than $1,000 and imprisoned not less than 6 months nor more than 1 year, or both, and shall pay all cost; provided, however, that where it is alleged that such violation has resulted in injury to any person, the offender shall be charged and tried under the applicable provisions of Title 11.
(d) The Superior Court shall have jurisdiction of violations of this chapter.