Effective date: 8/6/2018
(1) Minimum Continuing Education Hours: During each licensure biennium renewal period (biennium), dentists shall complete a minimum of 30 hours of continuing education and dental hygienists shall complete a minimum of 24 hours of continuing education.
(2) Prevention of Medical Errors and CPR Certification: During each biennium or for reactivation of a license the dentist and dental hygienist shall complete the following specific continuing education, training and certification:
(a) A board-approved two (2) hour continuing education course on the prevention of medical errors. To be approved by the board, the course shall include a study of root cause analysis, error reduction and prevention, and patient safety. This course shall count towards the requirement of subsection (1).
(b) Training in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) at the basic support level, including one-rescuer and two-rescuer CPR for adults, children, and infants; the relief of foreign body airway obstruction for adults, children, and infants; the use of an automatic external defibrillator (AED); and the use of ambu-bags. The CPR training shall result in the certification or recertification by the American Heart Association, the American Red Cross or an entity with equivalent requirements. CPR training and certification shall be taken in-person. Online training and certification shall not be accepted by the board. CPR training and certification shall not court towards the requirement of subsection (1).
(3) Domestic Violence Continuing Education: As a part of every third biennial licensure renewal or for reactivation of a license, the dentist and dental hygienist shall complete a board-approved two (2) hour continuing education course on domestic violence as defined in section 741.28, F.S., which course shall cover the substantive areas set forth in section 456.031, F.S. To be approved by the board, the course must be approved by any state or federal agency or professional association or be offered through a board-approved continuing education provider. This course shall court towards the requirement of subsection (1).
(4) HIV/AIDS Continuing Education: No later than upon the first licensee renewal or for reactivation of a license, a dentist and dental hygienist shall complete a board approved two (2) hour continuing education course on human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) and acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS). To be approved by the board, the course shall consist of instruction on HIV/AIDS and infectious diseases pertinent to the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene that shall include instruction on, but need not be limited to, viral counts, hepatitis, sterilization and infection control requirements, identification of oral lesions associated with infectious disease, how the presence of infectious disease directly affects treatment decisions of dentists, and the subject areas set forth in section 456.033, F.S.
(a) Any course completed outside of Florida, which otherwise complies with this subsection (4), besides the Florida law and subject areas set for in section 456.033(1), F.S. shall be approved by the board if the licensee submits to the board a statement that he or she has reviewed and studied the Florida law set forth in section 456.033(1), F.S.
(b) Home study courses are permitted for the purposes of meeting the HIV/AIDS and infectious diseases pertinent to the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene, provided the home study courses comply with the entirety of this subsection of the rule.
(c) The HIV/AIDS course shall count towards the requirement of subsection (1).
(5) Prescribing of Controlled Substances: Pursuant to section 456.0301, F.S., all licensees who are registered with the United States Drug Enforcement Administration and authorized to prescribe controlled substances shall complete a board-approved 2-hour course on prescribing controlled substances by January 31, 2019 and at each subsequent biennium renewal or for reactivation of a license.
(a) To receive board approval, the course must meet all the mandates of section 456.0301, F.S. The course may be offered in a distance learning format.
(b) This course shall count towards the requirement of subsection (1).
(6) Award of Continuing Education Credit: Continuing education credit shall be awarded only for educational experiences that are specifically appropriate for, and contain useful information directly pertinent to, dentistry or dental hygiene and only if received through the following methods:
(a) By taking courses offered by a board -approved continuing education provider.
(b) By taking courses offered by:
1. The American or National Dental Associations and their constituent and component and affiliate dental associations and societies, including affiliated specialty organizations or a provider organization recognized by either the American or National Dental Associations;
2. The American or National Dental Hygiene Associations and their constituent and component associations and societies;
3. The Academy of General Dentistry and its constituent and component organizations or a provider approved by the Academy of General Dentistry’s National Sponsor Approval Program;
4. A dental, dental hygiene or dental assisting school accredited by the American Dental Association’s Commission on Dental Accreditation;
5. A hospital, college, university, or community college, accredited by an accrediting agency approved by the United States Department of Education;
6. The American Red Cross, American Heart Association, and the American Cancer Society; and,
7. An educational program or course associated with a medical school which is accredited by the American Medical Association’s Liaison Committee for Medical Education.
(c) By participating in board-approved individual study pursuant to rule 64B5-12.018, F.A.C.
(d) By participating in examination standardization exercises for the examinations that are required for dental or dental hygiene in Florida. Dentists and dental hygienists may receive a maximum of six (6) continuing education credits per biennium for participating in the dental hygiene exercise; dentists may receive a maximum of eight (8) continuing education credits for the dental clinical exercise; and dentists may receive a maximum of eleven (11) continuing education credits per biennium for participating in both exercises.
(e) By participating in programs approved by the board pursuant to rule 64B5-12.0185, F.A.C., that provide substantial pro bono dental and dental hygiene services to the indigent, to dentally underserved populations or to persons who reside in areas of critical need within Florida. Dentists and dental hygienists may obtain a maximum of six (6) hours per biennium of required continuing education credit for participating in such programs. Continuing education credit shall be calculated at a ratio of 1 continuing education credit for each 1 hour of patient services provided to approved programs.
(f) By participating as an expert witness in the review of disciplinary cases, a licensee may receive a maximum of eleven (11) hours of continuing education credit for completing five disciplinary cases in each biennium. By participating as an expert witness in the review of disciplinary cases, a licensee may receive a maximum of four (4) hours of continuing education credit for completing two disciplinary cases in each biennium.
(g) By teaching a course at a dental, dental hygiene or dental assisting school accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation, its successor agency or other nationally recognized accrediting agency, an adjunct, part-time faculty member may receive three (3) continuing education hours per semester/quarter by providing to the board office documentation from the teaching institution which shall include the number of the semesters/quarters the licensee taught the course.
(h) Up to four (4) hours of credit per renewal cycle may be earned by attending a meeting of the Board of Dentistry wherein disciplinary cases are considered. The licensee must check in with staff prior to the beginning of the disciplinary proceedings. After the conclusion of the meeting, board staff will issue a certificate of attendance to the licensee. Credit hours shall be awarded on an hour for hour basis up to a maximum of four (4) hours. Credit hours may not be earned when the licensee attends a disciplinary case session as a party to a disciplinary action.
(i) By participating as an anesthesia inspection consultant, a licensee may receive two hours of continuing education credit each biennium.
Rulemaking Authority 456.013(9), 456.0301, 456.031, 466.004(4), 466.0135, 466.014 FS. Law Implemented 456.013(9), 456.0301, 456.031, 456.033, 466.0135, 466.014, 466.017(4) FS. History—New 4-2-86, Amended 12-31-86, 4-26-87, 7-20-87, 9-16-87, 11-18-89, 7-9-90, Formerly 21G-12.013, Amended 5-19-94, 7-18-94, Formerly 61F5-12.013, Amended 11-15-95, 4-8-96, Formerly 59Q-12.013, Amended 2-17-98, 2-15-99, 3-11-99, 11-9-00, 5-20-01, 8-25-03, 5-31-04, 7-13-05, 2-14-06, 12-25-06, 10-10-10, 4-19-18, 8-6-18.