Every person convicted of a gross misdemeanor shall be punished by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than 364 days, or by a fine of not more than $2,000, or by both fine and imprisonment, unless the statute in force at the time of commission of such gross misdemeanor prescribed a different penalty.

Attorney's Note

Under the Nevada Revised Statutes, punishments for crimes depend on the classification. In the case of this section:
gross misdemeanorup to 364 daysup to $2,000
For details, see Nev. Rev. Stat. § 193.140

Terms Used In Nevada Revised Statutes 193.140

  • county: includes Carson City. See Nevada Revised Statutes 0.033
  • person: means a natural person, any form of business or social organization and any other nongovernmental legal entity including, but not limited to, a corporation, partnership, association, trust or unincorporated organization. See Nevada Revised Statutes 0.039
  • Statute: A law passed by a legislature.