§ 801. Creation of Committee

(a) There is created a Joint Legislative Justice Oversight Committee whose membership shall be appointed each biennial session of the General Assembly. The Committee shall exercise oversight over the Department of Corrections and work with and provide assistance to other legislative committees on matters related to juvenile justice and criminal justice policies.

(b) The Committee shall be composed of 10 members: five members of the House of Representatives, who shall not all be from the same party, appointed by the Speaker of the House; and five members of the Senate, who shall not all be from the same party, appointed by the Committee on Committees. In addition to one member-at-large appointed from each chamber, one appointment shall be made from each of the House and Senate Committees on Appropriations and on Judiciary, the Senate Committees on Health and Welfare and on Institutions, and the House Committees on Corrections and Institutions and on Human Services.

Terms Used In Vermont Statutes Title 2 Sec. 801

  • biennially: shall mean the year in which a regular session of the General Assembly is held. See
  • Committee on committees: Committees formed in each party conference and responsible for nominating the party's Senators to committee membership and committee leadership positions. Nominations are subject to approval by the full party conference and to a formal vote of the Senate.
  • Justice: when applied to a person, other than a Justice of the Supreme Court, shall mean a justice of the peace for the county for which he or she is elected or appointed. See
  • Oversight: Committee review of the activities of a Federal agency or program.
  • President pro tempore: A constitutionally recognized officer of the Senate who presides over the chamber in the absence of the Vice President. The President Pro Tempore (or, "president for a time") is elected by the Senate and is, by custom, the Senator of the majority party with the longest record of continuous service.
  • Quorum: The number of legislators that must be present to do business.

(c) The Committee shall elect a Chair, Vice Chair, and Clerk from among its members and shall adopt rules of procedure. The Chair shall rotate biennially between the House and the Senate members. The Committee shall keep minutes of its meetings and maintain a file thereof. A quorum shall consist of six members.

(d) When the General Assembly is in session, the Committee shall meet at the call of the Chair. The Committee may meet six times during adjournment, and may meet more often subject to approval of the Speaker of the House and the President Pro Tempore of the Senate.

(e) For attendance at a meeting when the General Assembly is not in session, members of the Committee shall be entitled to compensation for services and reimbursement of expenses as provided under subsection 406(a) of this title.

(f) The professional and clerical services of the Joint Fiscal Office and the Office of Legislative Council shall be available to the Committee. (Added 2005, No. 63, § 19; amended 2007, No. 64, § 5; 2007, No. 179 (Adj. Sess.), § 20; 2015, No. 58, § E.335.1.)