Virginia Code 6.2-1921: Criminal penalty
Current as of: 2022 | Check for updates | Other versions
Any person required by this chapter to have a license who sells money orders or engages in the business of money transmission without first being licensed as required by § 6.2-1901 is guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.
Attorney's NoteUnder the Virginia Code, punishments for crimes depend on the classification. In the case of this section:
|Class 1 misdemeanor||up to 12 months||up to $2,500|
Terms Used In Virginia Code 6.2-1921
- Money transmission: means receiving money or monetary value for transmission by wire, facsimile, electronic means or other means or selling or issuing stored value. See Virginia Code 6.2-1900
- Person: means any individual, corporation, partnership, association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint venture, government, political subdivision, or other legal or commercial entity. See Virginia Code 6.2-100
1974, c. 578, § 6.1-375; 1976, c. 531; 1990, c. 259; 1994, c. 889; 2001, c. 372; 2009, c. 346, 2010, c. 794.