(1) Any person who receives, with or without transfer of legal custody, 5 to 8 children, not including children who under sub. (1m) are not counted toward that number, to provide care and maintenance for those children shall obtain a license to operate a group home from the department. To obtain a license under this subsection to operate a group home, a person must meet the determination of need requirement under sub. (1g), meet the minimum requirements for a license established by the department under s. 48.67, meet the requirements specified in s. 48.685, and pay the license fee under sub. (2). A license issued under this subsection is valid until revoked or suspended, but shall be reviewed every 2 years as provided in s. 48.66 (5).
Terms Used In Wisconsin Statutes 48.625
- Amendment: A proposal to alter the text of a pending bill or other measure by striking out some of it, by inserting new language, or both. Before an amendment becomes part of the measure, thelegislature must agree to it.
- Guardian: A person legally empowered and charged with the duty of taking care of and managing the property of another person who because of age, intellect, or health, is incapable of managing his (her) own affairs.
- in writing: includes any representation of words, letters, symbols or figures. See Wisconsin Statutes 403.504
- Person: includes all partnerships, associations and bodies politic or corporate. See Wisconsin Statutes 403.504
- Promulgate: when used in connection with a rule, as defined under s. See Wisconsin Statutes 403.504
(1g) No person may apply for a license under sub. (1) to operate a new group home or for an amendment to a license under sub. (1) that would increase the bed capacity of an existing group home until the department has reviewed the need for the additional placement resources that would be made available by the issuance or amendment of the license and has certified in writing that a need exists for the proposed additional placement resources. The department shall promulgate rules to implement this subsection.
(1m) The department may issue a license under sub. (1) authorizing a group home solely to provide a safe and structured living arrangement for children 12 years of age or over who are custodial parents, as defined in s. 49.141 (1) (b), or expectant mothers and who are placed in the group home under s. 48.345 (3) (cm) or 938.34 (3) (cm) and for children 14 years of age or over who are custodial parents, as defined in s. 49.141 (1) (b), or expectant mothers and who are placed in the group home under voluntary agreements under s. 48.63 (5), and to provide those children with training in parenting skills, including child development, family budgeting, health and nutrition, and other skills to promote the long-term economic independence of those children and the well-being of the children of those children. In licensing a group home described in this subsection, the department may not count toward the number of children whom the group home is licensed to serve the child of a child who is placed in the group home. The department shall promulgate rules establishing standards for a group home described in this subsection. Those rules shall require such a group home to provide for the health, safety, and welfare of the child of any child custodial parent who has been placed in that group home and to have a policy governing visitation between such a child and the child’s noncustodial parent.
(a) Except as provided in par. (c), before the department may issue a license under sub. (1) to a group home, the group home must pay to the department a biennial fee of $121, plus a biennial fee of $18.15 per child, based on the number of children that the group home is licensed to serve. A group home that wishes to continue a license issued under sub. (1) shall pay the fee under this paragraph by the continuation date of the license. A new group home shall pay the fee under this paragraph no later than 30 days before the opening of the group home.
(b) A group home that wishes to continue a license issued under sub. (1) and that fails to pay the fee under par. (a) by the continuation date of the license or a new group home that fails to pay the fee under par. (a) by 30 days before the opening of the group home shall pay an additional fee of $5 per day for every day after the deadline that the group home fails to pay the fee.
(c) An individual who is eligible for a fee waiver under the veterans fee waiver program under s. 45.44 is not required to pay the fee under par. (a) for a license under sub. (1).
(2m) When the department issues a license to operate a group home, the department shall notify the clerk of the school district in which the group home is located that a group home has been licensed in the school district.
(3) This section does not apply to a foster home licensed under s. 48.62 (1) or to a relative or guardian of a child or a person delegated care and custody of a child under s. 48.979 who provides care and maintenance for the child.