Home  > For Everyone  > Transportation  > {More Transportation Topics}  > Motor Vehicle Laws  > Vehicle Registration  > Wisconsin Statutes 341.03 - Operating vehicle after suspension, revocation or cancellation of registration 
Search the Wisconsin Statutes

Wisconsin Statutes 341.03 - Operating vehicle after suspension, revocation or cancellation of registration

Wisconsin Statutes > Chapter 341 > Subchapter I > 341.03


Current as of: 2013

   (1)    Prohibition. No person may operate or knowingly permit the operation of a motor vehicle if the registration for that vehicle is suspended, revoked or canceled under s. 285.30 (6) (d) or 342.255, ch. 344 or this chapter, or if the registration for that vehicle is suspended, canceled or revoked under the law of another jurisdiction.

   (2)   Penalties.

     (a)    Any person who violates sub. (1), where the vehicle used is an automobile or any other vehicle having a gross weight rating of 10,000 pounds or less, as determined by the manufacturer of the vehicle, may be required to forfeit not more than $200.

     (b)    Any person who violates sub. (1), where the vehicle used is a vehicle not enumerated under par. (a), may be required to forfeit not more than $500.

   (3)   Defenses.

     (a)   

        1.    It is a defense to a violation of sub. (1) that the person did not know, and had no reason to know, that the motor vehicle registration was suspended, revoked or canceled at the time of the violation.

        2.    Refusal to accept or failure to receive an order of suspension, revocation or cancellation mailed by the department to the person's last-known address shall not be a defense to a violation of sub. (1). If the person has changed his or her address and fails to notify the department as required in s. 343.22, then failure to receive notice of suspension, revocation or cancellation shall not be a defense to a violation of sub. (1).

     (b)    This section does not apply if operating the motor vehicle was made necessary by a situation of emergency.

Wisconsin Statutes 341.01 - Words and phrases definedSubchapter I Table of ContentsWisconsin Statutes 341.04 - Penalty for operating unregistered or improperly registered vehicle

________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________

Questions & Answers: Vehicle Registration

What does accumulated period exceeding 150 days mean? Is this consecutive within one year or just any 150 combination of days within a year? ...
Can I be required to modify my vehicle to meet requirements in excess of those imposed on the manufacturer? Specifically, my car (2003 Dodge Viper) was not manufacttured with a fr...
Eva, I interpret this as 150 days, whether consecutive or with breaks in between, and not necessarily in the same year. Steve Daily LawServer.com...
Neil, The State of Wisconsin is not requiring any modification to the car or additional aftermarket product. The license plate must be attached to the front, which can be accompli...
Can I drive out of state on a dealer issued license tag? ...
Is a pull behind camper requires to have a state tag? ...
Comments (0)add comment

Post a comment or question below.
smaller | bigger

busy
 
Email  Email Print  Print   Digg

monotone-frail