Any vendor or dealer in used or secondhand motor vehicles who shall violate or fail to observe any of the provisions of this chapter shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction for such violation, shall be punished by a fine of not less than $100.00 nor more than $500.00, and/or by imprisonment for not less than 30 days nor more than six months. The Director of Public Safety and his subordinate officers are hereby authorized and required to enforce, and are charged with the duty of enforcing, the provisions of this chapter.
(Acts 1936-37, Ex. Sess., No. 220, p. 263; Acts 1939, No. 621, p. 988, §1; Code 1940, T. 36, §107.)
Terms Used In Alabama Code 32-16-4. Penalty
- conviction: A judgement of guilt against a criminal defendant.
- dealer: Every person engaged in the business of buying, selling, or exchanging vehicles who has an established place of business for such purpose in this state and to whom current dealer registration plates have been issued by the Department of Revenue. See Alabama Code 32-1-1.1
- director: The Director of Public Safety of Alabama. See Alabama Code 32-1-1.1
- misdemeanor: Usually a petty offense, a less serious crime than a felony, punishable by less than a year of confinement.