Effective date: 3/7/2002

    Approved continuing professional education providers and providers authorized pursuant to paragraph 64B5-12.013(3)(b), F.A.C., shall comply with the following requirements:

Terms Used In Florida Regulations 64B5-12.0175

  • Jurisdiction: (1) The legal authority of a court to hear and decide a case. Concurrent jurisdiction exists when two courts have simultaneous responsibility for the same case. (2) The geographic area over which the court has authority to decide cases.
  • Rescission: The cancellation of budget authority previously provided by Congress. The Impoundment Control Act of 1974 specifies that the President may propose to Congress that funds be rescinded. If both Houses have not approved a rescission proposal (by passing legislation) within 45 days of continuous session, any funds being withheld must be made available for obligation.
    (1) All courses shall reflect appropriate didactic and clinical training for the subject matter and shall be designed to meet specifically stated educational objectives.
    (2) Instructors shall be adequately qualified by training, experience or licensure to teach specified courses. Because domestic violence courses must contain information specifically appropriate for, directly pertinent to, and useful in, dentistry, all domestic violence instructors shall be familiar with dental injuries indicative of domestic violence, reporting obligations under Florida and federal law, and incidence statistics in the dental profession. Instructors who have had a professional license revoked, suspended, or otherwise acted against, in Florida or in another jurisdiction, shall be disqualified when the nature and number of disciplinary actions indicate a conscious disregard for the laws, rules and ethics of the profession.
    (3) Any clinical dental hygiene course in which patients are treated during instruction must be supervised by a licensed dentist.
    (4) Facilities and equipment for each course in which patients are treated during instruction shall be adequate for the subject matter and method of instruction.
    (5) Course length shall be sufficient to provide meaningful education in the subject matter presented. One half hour or one hour of continuing education credit shall be awarded for each 25 or 50 minutes of actual classroom or clinical instruction, respectively. No continuing education credit shall be awarded for participation of less than 25 minutes.
    (6) Providers shall provide written certification to each participant who completes a continuing education course or portion of that course which consists of at least 25 minutes of instruction. Certification shall include the participant’s name and license number, the provider’s name and number, the course title, instructor, location, date offered and hours of continuing education credit awarded and validation through the signature of the provider, official representative or instructor.
    (7) Providers shall maintain records of each course offering for 4 years following each licensure biennium during which the course was offered. Course records shall include a course outline which reflects its educational objectives, the instructor’s name, the date and location of the course, participants’ evaluations of the course, the hours of continuing education credit awarded for each participant and a roster of participants by name and license number.
    (8) Providers’ records and courses shall be subject to Board review. Failure to maintain the standards set forth in this rule shall subject the provider to the suspension or rescission of the providership.
    (9) The provider number shall not be used on any advertisement or certification for a course that does not meet the requirements of Rule 64B5-12.016, F.A.C.
    (10) A licensee who has been approved as a provider may not give more than 12 hours of continuing education credit in subjects other than cardiopulmonary resuscitation to office staff, employees, or fellow employees during a biennium.
Rulemaking Authority 466.004(4), 466.014 FS. Implements Florida Statutes § 466.0135, 466.014. History—New 1-18-89, Amended 7-9-90, Formerly 21G-12.0175, 61F5-12.0175, 59Q-12.0175, Amended 10-3-99, 10-29-00, 3-7-02.