There is hereby created the Public Safety Cash Fund. All forfeitures and proceeds received by the Nebraska State Patrol under the federal Equitable Sharing Provisions or any other federal agreement from any agency of the federal government on or after July 10, 1990, shall be deposited in the fund. This section shall not apply to funds otherwise subject to sections 28-431 and 28-1439.02. The fund shall be used only in accordance with the applicable requirements of the federal government. The fund shall be administered by the Superintendent of Law Enforcement and Public Safety. For fiscal year 2013-14, transfers may be made from the fund to the Nebraska Capital Construction Fund at the direction of the Legislature to support capital projects related to Nebraska State Patrol law enforcement efforts. Any money in the Public Safety Cash Fund available for investment shall be invested by the state investment officer pursuant to the Nebraska Capital Expansion Act and the Nebraska State Funds Investment Act.

Terms Used In Nebraska Statutes 81-2004.05

  • Equitable: Pertaining to civil suits in "equity" rather than in "law." In English legal history, the courts of "law" could order the payment of damages and could afford no other remedy. See damages. A separate court of "equity" could order someone to do something or to cease to do something. See, e.g., injunction. In American jurisprudence, the federal courts have both legal and equitable power, but the distinction is still an important one. For example, a trial by jury is normally available in "law" cases but not in "equity" cases. Source: U.S. Courts
  • Fiscal year: The fiscal year is the accounting period for the government. For the federal government, this begins on October 1 and ends on September 30. The fiscal year is designated by the calendar year in which it ends; for example, fiscal year 2006 begins on October 1, 2005 and ends on September 30, 2006.
  • State: when applied to different states of the United States shall be construed to extend to and include the District of Columbia and the several territories organized by Congress. See Nebraska Statutes 49-801