(1)   Any cemetery authority that is required to be licensed under s. 440.91 (1) and that knowingly fails to be licensed may be fined not more than $100.

Terms Used In Wisconsin Statutes 440.95

  • Following: when used by way of reference to any statute section, means the section next following that in which the reference is made. See Wisconsin Statutes 403.504
  • Person: includes all partnerships, associations and bodies politic or corporate. See Wisconsin Statutes 403.504
  • Year: means a calendar year, unless otherwise expressed; "year" alone means "year of our Lord". See Wisconsin Statutes 403.504
   (2)   Any individual who is required to register as a cemetery salesperson under s. 440.91 (2) and who fails to register may be fined not less than $25 nor more than $200 or imprisoned for not more than 6 months or both.
   (3)   Except as provided in subs. (1) and (2), any person who violates s. 440.91 or 440.947 or any rule promulgated under s. 440.91 may be fined not more than $5,000 or imprisoned for not more than 6 months, or both, for the first offense and may be fined not more than $10,000 or imprisoned for not more than 9 months, or both, for each subsequent offense.
   (4)   Any person who intentionally does any of the following may be fined not more than $5,000 or imprisoned for not more than 90 days, or both, for the first offense and may be fined not more than $10,000 or imprisoned for not more than 9 months, or both, for each subsequent offense:
      (a)    Fails to register as a preneed seller as required under s. 440.92 (1) (a).
      (b)    Fails to deposit or invest preneed trust funds or care funds as required under s. 440.92 (3).
      (c)    Fails to file a report or files an incomplete, false or misleading report under s. 440.92 (6).
      (d)    Files a false or misleading certification under s. 440.92 (9).
   (5)   Except as provided in sub. (4), any person who violates s. 440.92 or any rule promulgated under s. 440.92 may be required to forfeit not more than $200 for each offense. Each day of continued violation constitutes a separate offense.
   (6)   
      (a)    Any cemetery authority or vendor that fails to disclose information to consumers in violation of s. 440.945 (3) may be required to forfeit not more than $200.
      (b)    Any cemetery authority or vendor that violates s. 440.945 (4) may be required to forfeit not more than $200 for the first offense and may be required to forfeit not more than $500 for the 2nd or any later offense within a year. The period shall be measured by using the dates of the offenses that resulted in convictions.