In AS 18.20.400 – 18.20.499,

Terms Used In Alaska Statutes 18.20.499 - Definitions

  • state: means the State of Alaska unless applied to the different parts of the United States and in the latter case it includes the District of Columbia and the territories. See Alaska Statutes 01.10.060

(1) “commissioner” means the commissioner of labor and workforce development;

(2) “health care facility” means a private, municipal, or state hospital; independent diagnostic testing facility; primary care outpatient facility; skilled nursing facility; kidney disease treatment center, including freestanding hemodialysis units; intermediate care facility; ambulatory surgical facility; Alaska Pioneers’ Home or Alaska Veterans’ Home administered by the Department of Health and Social Services under AS 47.55; correctional facility owned or administered by the state; private, municipal, or state facility employing one or more public health nurses; long-term care facility; psychiatric hospital; residential psychiatric treatment center, as defined in AS 18.07.111 or AS 47.32.900 ; secure residential psychiatric treatment center under AS 47.12.990; juvenile detention facility; juvenile detention home, juvenile work camp, or treatment facility as defined in AS 47.12.990 ;

(3) “nurse” means an individual licensed to practice registered nursing or practical nursing under AS 08.68 who provides nursing services through direct patient care or clinical services and includes a nurse manager when delivering in-hospital patient care;

(4) “on-call” means a status in which a nurse must be ready to report to the health care facility and may be called to work by the health care facility;

(5) “overtime” means the hours worked in excess of a predetermined and regularly scheduled shift that is agreed to by a nurse and a health care facility;

(6) “rural community” means a village or city that has a population of less than 10,000, as determined by the Department of Labor and Workforce Development, and is in

(A) the unorganized borough; or

(B) an organized borough that has a population of less than 25,000, as determined by the Department of Labor and Workforce Development.