(1) The requirements of part II of chapter 408 apply to the provision of services that require licensure pursuant to this part and part II of chapter 408 and persons or entities licensed or registered by or applying for such licensure or registration from the Agency for Health Care Administration pursuant to this part. A license or registration issued by the agency is required in order to operate a home health agency in this state. A license or registration issued on or after July 1, 2018, must specify the home health services the licensee or registrant is authorized to perform and indicate whether such specified services are considered skilled care. The provision or advertising of services that require licensure or registration pursuant to this part without such services being specified on the face of the license or registration issued on or after July 1, 2018, constitutes unlicensed activity as prohibited under s. 408.812.
(2) If the licensed home health agency operates related offices, each related office outside the health service planning district where the main office is located must be separately licensed. The counties where the related offices are operating within the health service planning district must be specified on the license in the main office.
(3) A home infusion therapy provider must be licensed as a home health agency or nurse registry.
(4)(a) A licensee or registrant that offers or advertises to the public any service for which licensure or registration is required under this part must include in the advertisement the license number or registration number issued to the licensee or registrant by the agency. The agency shall assess a fine of not less than $100 to any licensee or registrant that fails to include the license or registration number when submitting the advertisement for publication, broadcast, or printing. The fine for a second or subsequent offense is $500. The holder of a license or registration issued under this part may not advertise or indicate to the public that it holds a home health agency or nurse registry license or registration other than the one it has been issued.
Terms Used In Florida Statutes 400.464
- Agency: means the Agency for Health Care Administration. See Florida Statutes 400.462
- Certified nursing assistant: means any person who has been issued a certificate under part II of chapter 464. See Florida Statutes 400.462
- Client: means an elderly, handicapped, or convalescent individual who receives companion services or homemaker services in the individual's home or place of residence. See Florida Statutes 400.462
- Department: means the Department of Children and Families. See Florida Statutes 400.462
- Home health agency: means a person that provides one or more home health services. See Florida Statutes 400.462
- Home health aide: means a person who is trained or qualified, as provided by rule, and who provides hands-on personal care, performs simple procedures as an extension of therapy or nursing services, assists in ambulation or exercises, assists in administering medications as permitted in rule and for which the person has received training established by the agency under this part, or performs tasks delegated to him or her under chapter 464. See Florida Statutes 400.462
- Home health services: means health and medical services and medical supplies furnished to an individual in the individual's home or place of residence. See Florida Statutes 400.462
- Home infusion therapy provider: means a person that employs, contracts with, or refers a licensed professional who has received advanced training and experience in intravenous infusion therapy and who administers infusion therapy to a patient in the patient's home or place of residence. See Florida Statutes 400.462
- Injunction: An order of the court prohibiting (or compelling) the performance of a specific act to prevent irreparable damage or injury.
- Misdemeanor: Usually a petty offense, a less serious crime than a felony, punishable by less than a year of confinement.
- Nurse registry: means any person that procures, offers, promises, or attempts to secure health-care-related contracts for registered nurses, licensed practical nurses, certified nursing assistants, home health aides, companions, or homemakers, who are compensated by fees as independent contractors, including, but not limited to, contracts for the provision of services to patients and contracts to provide private duty or staffing services to health care facilities licensed under chapter 395, this chapter, or chapter 429 or other business entities. See Florida Statutes 400.462
- Patient: means any person who receives home health services in his or her home or place of residence. See Florida Statutes 400.462
- person: includes individuals, children, firms, associations, joint adventures, partnerships, estates, trusts, business trusts, syndicates, fiduciaries, corporations, and all other groups or combinations. See Florida Statutes 1.01
- Personal care: means assistance to a patient in the activities of daily living, such as dressing, bathing, eating, or personal hygiene, and assistance in physical transfer, ambulation, and in administering medications as permitted by rule. See Florida Statutes 400.462
- sitter: means a person who spends time with or cares for an elderly, handicapped, or convalescent individual and accompanies such individual on trips and outings and may prepare and serve meals to such individual. See Florida Statutes 400.462
- Skilled care: means nursing services or therapeutic services required by law to be delivered by a health care professional who is licensed under part I of chapter 464; part I, part III, or part V of chapter 468; or chapter 486 and who is employed by or under contract with a licensed home health agency or is referred by a licensed nurse registry. See Florida Statutes 400.462
(b) The operation or maintenance of an unlicensed home health agency or the performance of any home health services in violation of this part is declared a nuisance, inimical to the public health, welfare, and safety. The agency or any state attorney may, in addition to other remedies provided in this part, bring an action for an injunction to restrain such violation, or to enjoin the future operation or maintenance of the home health agency or the provision of home health services in violation of this part or part II of chapter 408, until compliance with this part or the rules adopted under this part has been demonstrated to the satisfaction of the agency.
(c) A person who violates paragraph (a) is subject to an injunctive proceeding under s. 408.816. A violation of paragraph (a) or s. 408.812 is a deceptive and unfair trade practice and constitutes a violation of the Florida Deceptive and Unfair Trade Practices Act under part II of chapter 501.
(d) A person who violates the provisions of paragraph (a) commits a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083. Any person who commits a second or subsequent violation commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083. Each day of continuing violation constitutes a separate offense.
(e) Any person who owns, operates, or maintains an unlicensed home health agency and who, after receiving notification from the agency, fails to cease operation and apply for a license under this part commits a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083. Each day of continued operation is a separate offense.
(f) A home health agency that fails to cease operation after agency notification may be fined in accordance with s. 408.812.
(5) If a licensed home health agency authorizes a registered nurse to delegate tasks, including medication administration, to a certified nursing assistant pursuant to chapter 464 or to a home health aide pursuant to s. 400.490, the licensed home health agency must ensure that such delegation meets the requirements of this chapter and chapter 464 and the rules adopted thereunder.
(6) The following are exempt from licensure as a home health agency under this part:
(a) A home health agency operated by the Federal Government.
(b) Home health services provided by a state agency, either directly or through a contractor with:
1. The Department of Elderly Affairs.
2. The Department of Health, a community health center, or a rural health network that furnishes home visits for the purpose of providing environmental assessments, case management, health education, personal care services, family planning, or followup treatment, or for the purpose of monitoring and tracking disease.
3. Services provided to persons with developmental disabilities, as defined in s. 393.063.
4. Companion and sitter organizations that were registered under s. 400.509(1) on January 1, 1999, and were authorized to provide personal services under a developmental services provider certificate on January 1, 1999, may continue to provide such services to past, present, and future clients of the organization who need such services, notwithstanding this act.
5. The Department of Children and Families.
(c) A health care professional, whether or not incorporated, who is licensed under chapter 457; chapter 458; chapter 459; part I of chapter 464; chapter 467; part I, part III, part V, or part X of chapter 468; chapter 480; chapter 486; chapter 490; or chapter 491, and who is acting alone within the scope of his or her professional license to provide care to patients in their homes.
(d) A home health aide or certified nursing assistant who is acting in his or her individual capacity, within the definitions and standards of his or her occupation, and who provides hands-on care to patients in their homes.
(e) An individual who acts alone, in his or her individual capacity, and who is not employed by or affiliated with a licensed home health agency or registered with a licensed nurse registry. This exemption does not entitle an individual to perform home health services without the required professional license.
(f) The delivery of instructional services in home dialysis and home dialysis supplies and equipment.
(g) The delivery of nursing home services for which the nursing home is licensed under part II of this chapter, to serve its residents in its facility.
(h) The delivery of assisted living facility services for which the assisted living facility is licensed under part I of chapter 429, to serve its residents in its facility.
(i) The delivery of hospice services for which the hospice is licensed under part IV of this chapter, to serve hospice patients admitted to its service.
(j) A hospital that provides services for which it is licensed under chapter 395.
(k) The delivery of community residential services for which the community residential home is licensed under chapter 419, to serve the residents in its facility.
(l) A not-for-profit, community-based agency that provides early intervention services to infants and toddlers.
(m) Certified rehabilitation agencies and comprehensive outpatient rehabilitation facilities that are certified under Title 18 of the Social Security Act.
(n) The delivery of adult family-care home services for which the adult family-care home is licensed under part II of chapter 429, to serve the residents in its facility.
(o) A person that provides skilled care by health care professionals licensed solely under part I of chapter 464; part I, part III, or part V of chapter 468; or chapter 486. The exemption in this paragraph does not entitle a person to perform home health services without the required professional license.
(p) A person that provides services using only volunteers or individuals related by blood or marriage to the patient or client.
(7) Any person, entity, or organization providing home health services which is exempt from licensure under subsection (6) may voluntarily apply for a certificate of exemption from licensure under its exempt status with the agency on a form that specifies its name or names and addresses, a statement of the reasons why it is exempt from licensure as a home health agency, and other information deemed necessary by the agency. A certificate of exemption is valid for a period of not more than 2 years and is not transferable. The agency may charge an applicant $100 for a certificate of exemption or charge the actual cost of processing the certificate.