(a) The department shall issue a school or instructor license to an applicant who has complied with the provisions of this chapter and regulations adopted under this chapter. All licenses issued under this section expire on the last day of each calendar year.
Terms Used In Alaska Statutes 28.17.031 - Issuance and expiration of licenses; fees
- school: means a business or nonprofit enterprise for the education and training of persons, either practically or theoretically, or both, in the driving of motor vehicles, for which a consideration or tuition is charged;
(2) "instructor" means a person, whether acting personally as operator of a school or acting for a school for compensation, who teaches, conducts classes of, gives demonstrations to, or supervises practice of, persons in the driving of motor vehicles. See Alaska Statutes 28.17.071
(b) Every application for an original or renewed school license must be accompanied by a fee of $25, and each application for an original or renewed instructor license must be accompanied by a fee of $5. Fees specified in this section may not be refunded if a license is refused, suspended, or revoked.
(c) The department shall require an applicant for a license under this chapter to submit the applicant’s fingerprints and the fees required by the Department of Public Safety under AS 12.62.160 for criminal justice information and a national criminal history record check. The department shall submit the fingerprints and fees to the Department of Public Safety for a report of criminal justice information under AS 12.62 and a national criminal history record check under AS 12.62.400 .