(1) For purposes of this chapter, the state is divided into three districts composed of:

(a) Citrus District One: Levy, Alachua, Brevard, Putnam, St. Johns, St. Lucie, Flagler, Indian River, Marion, Seminole, Orange, Okeechobee, Polk, Volusia, and Osceola Counties.

Terms Used In Florida Statutes 601.09

(b) Citrus District Two: Hardee, DeSoto, Highlands, and Glades Counties.
(c) Citrus District Three: Charlotte, Citrus, Collier, Hernando, Hendry, Hillsborough, Lake, Lee, Manatee, Monroe, Martin, Pasco, Palm Beach, Pinellas, Sarasota, Sumter, Broward, and Miami-Dade Counties.
(2) The Legislature intends that the citrus districts be reviewed and, if necessary to maintain substantially equal volumes of citrus production within each district, redistricted every 5 years. The commission may, once every 5 years, review the citrus districts based on the total boxes produced within each district during the preceding 5 years and, based on the commission’s findings, submit recommendations to the Legislature for redistricting in accordance with this subsection.