Florida Statutes 856.015 – Open house parties
Current as of: 2022 | Check for updates | Other versions
(1) Definitions.–As used in this section:
For details, see Fla. Stat. § 775.082(4)(b) and Fla. Stat. § 775.082(4)(a)
(a) “Alcoholic beverage” means distilled spirits and any beverage containing 0.5 percent or more alcohol by volume. The percentage of alcohol by volume shall be determined in accordance with the provisions of s. 561.01(4)(b).
Attorney's NoteUnder the Florida Statutes, punishments for crimes depend on the classification. In the case of this section:
|misdemeanor of the second degree||up to 60 days||up to $500|
|misdemeanor of the first degree||up to 1 year||up to $1,000|
Terms Used In Florida Statutes 856.015
- minor: includes any person who has not attained the age of 18 years. See Florida Statutes 1.01
- person: includes individuals, children, firms, associations, joint adventures, partnerships, estates, trusts, business trusts, syndicates, fiduciaries, corporations, and all other groups or combinations. See Florida Statutes 1.01
(b) “Control” means the authority or ability to regulate, direct, or dominate.
(d) “Minor” means an individual not legally permitted by reason of age to possess alcoholic beverages pursuant to chapter 562.
(e) “Open house party” means a social gathering at a residence.
(f) “Person” means an individual 18 years of age or older.
(g) “Residence” means a home, apartment, condominium, or other dwelling unit.
(2) A person having control of any residence may not allow an open house party to take place at the residence if any alcoholic beverage or drug is possessed or consumed at the residence by any minor where the person knows that an alcoholic beverage or drug is in the possession of or being consumed by a minor at the residence and where the person fails to take reasonable steps to prevent the possession or consumption of the alcoholic beverage or drug.
(3) The provisions of this section shall not apply to the use of alcoholic beverages at legally protected religious observances or activities.
(4) Any person who violates any of the provisions of subsection (2) commits a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083. A person who violates subsection (2) a second or subsequent time commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.
(5) If a violation of subsection (2) causes or contributes to causing serious bodily injury, as defined in s. 316.1933, or death to the minor, or if the minor causes or contributes to causing serious bodily injury or death to another as a result of the minor’s consumption of alcohol or drugs at the open house party, the violation is a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.