Heads of departments.

The governor, secretary of state, attorney general, and general treasurer, hereinafter called general officers, shall each be in charge of a department. There shall also be a director of administration, a director of revenue, a director of public safety, a director of human services, a director of behavioral healthcare, developmental disabilities and hospitals, a director of transportation, a director of business regulation, a director of labor and training, a director of environmental management, a director for children, youth and families, and a director of corrections. Each director shall hold office at the pleasure of the governor and he or she shall serve until his or her successor is duly appointed and qualified unless the director is removed from office by special order of the governor.