The complaint shall be filed with the municipal clerk and the director and a certified copy thereof shall be served upon the person so charged. The director shall thereafter designate a hearing date before the director or his designee, which shall be not less than 30 days nor later than 60 days from the date of service of the complaint. The hearing date may be extended by the Superior Court for good cause shown upon the application of either party.

      The person so charged and the complainant shall have the right to be represented by counsel and the power to subpena witnesses and documentary evidence, together with discovery proceedings.

Terms Used In New Jersey Statutes 40A:9-140.9

  • clerk: means the clerk of a municipality or of a board of chosen freeholders. See New Jersey Statutes 40A:1-1
  • director: means the Director of the Division of Local Government Services in the Department of Community Affairs. See New Jersey Statutes 40A:1-1
  • person: includes corporations, companies, associations, societies, firms, partnerships and joint stock companies as well as individuals, unless restricted by the context to an individual as distinguished from a corporate entity or specifically restricted to one or some of the above enumerated synonyms and, when used to designate the owner of property which may be the subject of an offense, includes this State, the United States, any other State of the United States as defined infra and any foreign country or government lawfully owning or possessing property within this State. See New Jersey Statutes 1:1-2


      The Superior Court shall have jurisdiction to review the determination of the director, which court shall hear the cause de novo on the record below and affirm, modify or set aside such determination.

      Either party may supplement the record with additional testimony subject to the rules of evidence.

      L.1977,c.39,s.3; amended 1981,c.75,s.2; 1988,c.110,s.14; 1991,c.175,s.7.