Terms Used In Wisconsin Statutes 50.14
- Facility: means a nursing home or community-based residential facility. See Wisconsin Statutes 50.01
- Fiscal year: The fiscal year is the accounting period for the government. For the federal government, this begins on October 1 and ends on September 30. The fiscal year is designated by the calendar year in which it ends; for example, fiscal year 2006 begins on October 1, 2005 and ends on September 30, 2006.
- Following: when used by way of reference to any statute section, means the section next following that in which the reference is made. See Wisconsin Statutes 990.01
- Month: means a calendar month unless otherwise expressed. See Wisconsin Statutes 990.01
- Nursing home: means a place where 5 or more persons who are not related to the operator or administrator reside, receive care or treatment and, because of their mental or physical condition, require access to 24-hour nursing services, including limited nursing care, intermediate level nursing care and skilled nursing services. See Wisconsin Statutes 50.01
- Preceding: when used by way of reference to any statute section, means the section next preceding that in which the reference is made. See Wisconsin Statutes 990.01
- Promulgate: when used in connection with a rule, as defined under…. See Wisconsin Statutes 990.01
- State: when applied to states of the United States, includes the District of Columbia, the commonwealth of Puerto Rico and the several territories organized by Congress. See Wisconsin Statutes 990.01
- Year: means a calendar year, unless otherwise expressed; "year" alone means "year of our Lord". See Wisconsin Statutes 990.01
(1) In this section:
(a) Notwithstanding s. 50.01 (1m), “facility” means a nursing home or an intermediate care facility for persons with an intellectual disability that is not located outside the state.
(b) “Intermediate care facility for persons with an intellectual disability” has the meaning given for “intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded” under 42 USC 1396d (d).
(2) For the privilege of doing business in this state, there is imposed on all licensed beds of a facility an assessment in the following amount per calendar month per licensed bed of the facility:
(am) For nursing homes, an amount not to exceed $150 in state fiscal year 2009-10, and, beginning in state fiscal year 2010-11, an amount not to exceed $170.
(bm) For intermediate care facilities for persons with an intellectual disability, $910.
(2g) The assessment moneys collected under this section shall be deposited in the Medical Assistance trust fund.
(2r) In determining the number of licensed beds, all of the following apply:
(a) If the amount of the beds is other than a whole number, the fractional part of the amount shall be disregarded unless it equals 50 percent or more of a whole number, in which case the amount shall be increased to the next whole number.
(b) The number of licensed beds of a nursing home includes any number of beds that have been delicensed under s. 49.45 (6m) (ap) 1. but not deducted from the nursing home’s licensed bed capacity under s. 49.45 (6m) (ap) 4. a.
(3) By the end of each month, each facility shall submit to the department the amount due under sub. (2) for each licensed bed of the facility for the month preceding the month during which the payment is being submitted. The department shall verify the number of beds licensed and, if necessary, make adjustments to the payment, notify the facility of changes in the payment owing and send the facility an invoice for the additional amount due or send the facility a refund.
(4) Sections 77.59 (1) to (5m), (6) (intro.), (a) and (c) and (7) to (10), 77.60 (1) to (7), (9) and (10), 77.61 (9) and (12) to (14) and 77.62, as they apply to the taxes under subch. III of ch. 77, apply to the assessment under this section, except that the amount of any assessment collected under s. 77.59 (7) in a fiscal year shall be deposited in the Medical Assistance trust fund.
(a) The department shall levy, enforce and collect the assessment under this section and shall develop and distribute forms necessary for levying and collection.
(b) The department shall promulgate rules that establish procedures and requirements for levying the assessment under this section.
(a) An affected facility may contest an action by the department under this section by submitting a written request for a hearing to the department within 30 days after the date of the department’s action.
(b) Any order or determination made by the department under a hearing as specified in par. (a) is subject to judicial review as prescribed under ch. 227.