Effective date: 4/17/2013
(a) “Citation” means an instrument which meets the requirements set forth in Florida Statutes § 456.077, and which is served upon a subject for the purpose of assessing a penalty in an amount established by this rule;
Terms Used In Florida Regulations 64B13-15.009
- Complaint: A written statement by the plaintiff stating the wrongs allegedly committed by the defendant.
- Statute: A law passed by a legislature.
(b) “Subject” means the licensee or applicant alleged to have committed a violation designated in this rule.
(2) In lieu of the disciplinary procedures contained in Florida Statutes § 456.073, the Department is hereby authorized to dispose of any violation designated herein by issuing a citation to the subject within six months after the filing of the complaint which is the basis for the citation.
(3) The procedures described herein apply only for an initial offense of the alleged violation. Subsequent violation(s) of the same rule or statute shall require the procedures of Florida Statutes § 456.073, to be followed. In addition, should an initial offense for which a citation could be issued occur in conjunction with violations not described herein, then the procedures of Florida Statutes § 456.077, shall apply.
(4) Pursuant to Florida Statutes § 456.077, the Board sets forth below those violations for which there is no substantial threat to the public health, safety, and welfare.
(a) The Board hereby designates the following as citation violations which shall result in a penalty of two hundred and fifty dollars ($250.00):
1. Failure to include in an advertisement for free or discounted services the statement required by Florida Statutes § 456.062 The licensee shall come into compliance within fifteen (15) days after receipt of the citation.
2. Failure to conspicuously display a license, entrance sign, and other signs at each office and branch office location as required by Florida Statutes § 463.011, and Rules 64B13-3.005 and 64B13-3.006, F.A.C. The licensee shall come into compliance within fifteen (15) days after receipt of the citation.
3. Failure to display license and required practice information as specified in Rule 64B13-3.006, F.A.C. The licensee shall come into compliance within fifteen (15) days after receipt of the citation.
4. Failure to document having obtained the continuing education required by Florida Statutes § 463.007, and Rule Chapter 64B13-5, F.A.C. The fine shall be assessed at $250.00 per hour of deficiency of the required continuing education.
5. Failure to respond to a continuing education audit as required by Rule 64B13-5.001, F.A.C. The licensee shall come into compliance by paying the citation fine within thirty (30) days after receipt of the citation.
(b) For the violation of failure to timely pay required fines, fees, or costs, the penalty required shall be double the amount of the fines, fees, or costs not timely paid.
(5) Once the citation becomes a final order, the citation and complaint become a public record pursuant to Chapter 119, F.S., unless otherwise exempt from the provisions of Chapter 119, F.S. The citation and complaint may be considered as aggravating circumstances in future disciplinary actions pursuant to Rule 64B13-15.007, F.A.C.
(6) Tendering a check payable to the Board of Optometry or to the Department of Health that is dishonored by the institution upon which it is drawn shall result in a fine of $100 and payment of the check within thirty (30) days.
Rulemaking Authority 456.077, 463.005 FS. Implements Florida Statutes § 456.077. History—New 1-1-92, Formerly 21Q-15.009, 61F8-15.009, 59V-15.009, Amended 3-21-00, 4-17-01, 12-26-01, 5-1-02, 7-15-02, 6-13-04, 11-16-05, 11-5-07, 7-13-08, 10-30-08, 4-17-13.